Find Your Vocation

No matter what age you are, it never hurts to ask yourself, “What do I want to be when I grow up?” Whether you are 10, 20, 40, or even 80; what do you want to do with your life?

 

There are three different categories that jobs could fall into. First off there is just a job. A job is what you do to earn money, support your life and buy things. A job is something you may or may not want to do for the rest of your life, or even just for a while.

 

Next there is the career. A career is what you get when you like your job, or go to school to get a degree, maybe even what you want to do for the rest of your life. But still, it’s a way to earn money and support life.

 

Finally, there is the vocation. This is most important because it is what you were born to do. A vocation is the ultimate goal in life, the biggest dream you have. Yet some people don’t know their vocation. Some people die without knowing it. So if you are one of the people who know it, don’t let anything stop you. It’s what you were BORN to do.

 

This is why I bring this up today. It’s almost like a life coaching seminar going on in my head. It’s also why I say that even if you are old as all hell, maybe even retired, you still have a vocation. Not everyone knows what he or she really WANTS to do in life.

 

I stress the importance on really getting in touch with your inner self a lot in my blog. This is one of the biggest reasons to do so; learn your vocation.

 

For example, I am in my early 20’s and I already know my vocation. I AM a writer, an actor, and a professional funny man: an entertainer extraordinaire. I AM a forever employee in the entertainment industry. I know this, and I love having high goals for my life. No matter what meaningless job I get, or hell, even whatever career I go into: it’s just to pay the bills while I work on my vocation.

 

So what do you WANT? What were you BORN to do? This is a question that most people give up on once they are in a career because they think they know. But is it really your vocation? Or are you just happy with where you are at and the money you make? What if everyone were to just stop; stop being a career minded individual for a minute, and focus on their vocation?

 

Many people would say the world would turn to shit. Nothing would get done… SOOOO not true. The world would be a happy place, a place where people get shit done. I say that because then you have the people who were BORN to do the job in the right position. And who is going to work harder than the person who REALLY loves their work? Absolutely no one, that’s who.

 

So, no matter your age, really think about the question, “What do I want to do with my life? What was I BORN to do?”

 

It will change your life forever. Guaranteed.